In the spring of 2018, NRPA selected the first cohort of cities to receive grant funding for the 10-Minute Walk campaign and welcomed the second cohort in January 2019. These 22 cities are working on innovative and equity driven systems-change approaches including planning, policy, and funding strategies to increase access to high-quality, close to home parks and public green space. Collectively, these cities represent geographic diversity, city size, and bipartisan municipal leadership. Below are the 22 cities, click on the map for more information about each city’s 10-Minute Walk commitment.

Cohort 1 (2018)

  • Anchorage, AK
  • Austin, TX
  • Camden, NJ
  • Chattanooga, TN
  • Clarkston, GA
  • El Cajon, CA
  • Grand Rapids, MI
  • Lewisville, TX
  • New Rochelle, NY
  • Orlando, FL
  • Rochester, NY
  • Tukwila, WA

Cohort 2 (2019)

  • Bennettsville, SC
  • Denver, CO
  • Los Angeles City, CA
  • Los Angeles County, West Athens-Westmont, CA
  • Lynnwood, WA
  • Memphis, TN
  • Paterson, NJ
  • Raleigh, NC
  • Tacoma, WA
  • Winooski, VT

10-Minute Walk Map: Grantee Cities

The 10-Minute Walk Campaign calls on mayors to demonstrate their commitment to parks and inspire them to adopt long-term, system-wide strategies to improve equitable access to quality parks.

Learn More

News Stories

10.17.19Top Story

Nonprofit working to bring equity to Baltimore playgrounds

10.17.19Around the Country

Md. park to replace rusted steel bridge with one made of fiberglass

10.17.19Around the Country

San Francisco park hosts sukkah for Jewish festival