The Commission for Accreditation of Park and Recreation Agencies is a 18-member board composed of representatives from:

  • National Recreation and Park Association (5 representatives)
  • American Academy for Park and Recreation Administration (5 representatives)
  • American Therapeutic Recreation Association (1 representative)
  • The Academy of Leisure Sciences (1 representative)
  • Armed Forces Recreation Network (1 representative)
  • Council of State Executive Directors (1 representative)
  • International City/County Management Association (1 representative)
  • National Association of County Park and Recreation Officials (1 representative)
  • National Association of State Park Directors/America’s State Parks (1 representative)
  • National Recreation and Park Ethnic Minority Society (1 representative)

The Commission is administratively sponsored by the National Recreation and Park Association, but acts with independence and under its own authority in determining accreditation standards and conferring accreditation of applicant agencies.


CAPRA Commission Roster

News Stories