NRPA National Awards are presented to individuals and agencies to honor their efforts — both professional and personal — in the field of parks and recreation. Recipients are selected by the Awards & Scholarship Committee and are chosen for excellence in a variety of topics, including professional and voluntary service, programming, leadership, research and public outreach.

The NRPA National Awards include 11 awards. The categories and criteria have been designed to be inclusive and significant to park and recreation.


National Award Descriptions


The 2017 NRPA National Award applications were due by midnight ET March 12, 2017.

2016 National Award Recipients

Individual Awards

Robert M. Artz Citizen Advocacy Award 
David Nigel, San Bruno, CA 

Robert W. Crawford Young Professional Award
Tiffany M. Johnson, Seattle, WA

RWJF-NRPA Award for Health Equity 
Steve Elliott Marcus, Miami, FL 

National Distinguished Professional Award 
Carolyn McKnight, Baton Rouge, LA 

Theodore and Franklin Roosevelt Award for Excellence in Recreation and Park Research Award 
Kristi M. Fondren, Huntington, WV 

Agency Awards

Excellence in Inclusion Award
Carmel Clay Parks & Recreation, IN  

Excellence in Innovative Programming Award 
City of Tampa Parks and Recreation Department, FL 

Facility or Park Design Award 
Bend Park and Recreation District, OR 

Barb King Environmental Stewardship Award 
Fairfax County Park Authority, VA 

Kudos Marketing Award 
County of San Diego, CA 

National Partnership Award 
CityArchRiver Alliance, St. Louis, MO 


For additional information contact

News Stories

4.25.17Top Story

1,300-acre multiuse park under construction in Calif.

4.25.17Around the Country

Pa. island park receives new entertainment features

4.25.17Around the Country

Neb. state parks to get new attractions in $35 million project