National Awards

NRPA National Awards are presented to individuals and agencies to honor their efforts — both professional and personal — in the field of parks and recreation. Recipients are selected by the Awards & Scholarship Committee and are chosen for excellence in a variety of topics, including professional and voluntary service, programming, leadership, research and public outreach.

The NRPA Award program includes 10 National Awards. The categories and criteria have been designed to be inclusive and significant to park and recreation.

NRPA is very pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 National Awards

Robert M. Artz Citizen Advocacy
Dave Anderson
City of Elk River
Elk River, MN

Robert W. Crawford Young Professional
Atuya O. Cornwell
The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Silver Spring, MD

Excellence in Inclusion Award
The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Greenbelt, MD

Excellence in Innovative Programming
Frederick County Parks and Recreation
Frederick, MD

Facility or Park Design
City of Tallahassee Parks, Recreation and Neighborhood Affairs Department
Tallahassee, FL

Barb King Environmental Stewardship
Carmel Clay Parks & Recreation
Carmel, IN

Kudos Marketing
Milwaukee Recreation and Community Services
Milwaukee, WI

National Distinguished Professional Award
Christopher M. Nunes, Ph.D., CPRE
The Woodlands Township
The Woodlands, TX

National Partnership
City of Atlanta Parks and Recreation
Atlanta, GA

Theodore and Franklin Roosevelt Award for Excellence in Recreation and Park Research
Daniel R. Williams
USDA Forest Service
Ft. Collins, CO


Information for the 2016 National Awards will be available in January 2016.