Congratulations! to the 2018 Innovation and Spotlight Awards Recipients

July 6, 2018, Department, by National Recreation and Park Association

2018 July NRPA Update Innovation and Spotlight Awards 410

The NRPA Spotlight Awards and inaugural Innovation Awards will be presented at this year’s NRPA Annual Conference, September 25–27, 2018, in Indianapolis, Indiana.

New this year, the NRPA Innovation Awards recognize park and recreation agencies nationwide that have improved and empowered their communities through innovative practices in park design, health and wellness, conservation and social equity. The recipients of this year’s awards are as follows:

Innovation in Health Award
Los Angeles County Department of Parks and Recreation, Alhambra, California

Innovation in Conservation Award
Forest Preserves of Cook County, River Forest, Illinois

Innovation in Social Equity Award
Chicago Park District, Chicago, Illinois

Innovation in Park Design Award
Town of Glastonbury, Glastonbury, Connecticut

Through online voting at the end of June, NRPA members and the public chose from these categories the agency that exemplified the best of the best in park and recreation innovation to receive the Best in Innovation Award. That agency will be revealed during the Best of the Best Awards ceremony.

NRPA Spotlight Awards are presented to individuals to honor their efforts — both professional and personal — in the field of parks and recreation. NRPA is proud to recognize these individuals with the following awards:

Robert M. Artz Advocate Award
Nixon Adams, chair, board of commissioners, Recreation District #1, Pelican Park, St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana

Robert W. Crawford Young Professional Award
Jeff Ozimek, outdoor adventure programming manager, Bainbridge Island Metro Park & Recreation District, Bainbridge Island, Washington

RWJF-NRPA Award for Health Equity
Becky Tuttle, director of community development/chair, Greater Wichita YMCA/Health & Wellness Coalition of Wichita, Wichita, Kansas

National Distinguished Professional Award
Michael Klitzing, chief operating officer, Carmel Clay Parks & Recreation, Carmel, Indiana

Theodore and Franklin Roosevelt Award for Excellence in Recreation and Park Research
Andrew Mowen, professor, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania

“On behalf of the entire awards committee, I want to congratulate this year’s award winners,” says Cindi Wight, chair of the NRPA Awards Committee. “Their positive contributions to the field of parks and recreation will make a difference in the communities they serve and beyond.” 

We hope you’ll join us, Wednesday, September 26, 6:30–7:30 p.m., to help us congratulate this year’s winners.