NRPA

Share 

Caucuses

United States Capitol Dome in Washington DCOn Capitol Hill, congressional members may choose to affiliate with any number of caucuses, which are groups of congresspeople united in their pursuit of common legislative objectives. Caucuses vary in the number and partisanship of members, as well as their level of activity. As each new Congress convenes, new caucuses form, old ones disband, and current ones often change membership.

There are a number of congressional caucuses related to parks and recreation, and professionals in the industry are wise to contact the appropriate caucus members to inform them of developing issues in the field so they can best represent your needs. Below is a list of caucuses you may wish to contact to advocate on your behalf.

113th Congress Congressional Member Organizations

Congressional Caucus on Community Health

Date Approved: 3/7/2013
Chairs & Co-Chairs: Rep. Michael E. Capuano; Rep. Danny K. Davis; Rep. Kay Granger; Rep. Tim Griffin
Staff Contact Name and Information:
Robert Primus (Capuano) 202.225.5111, robert.primus@mail.house.gov

Congressional Caucus on Youth Sports

Date Approved: 04/16/2013
Chairs & Co-Chairs: Rep. Mike McIntyre; Rep. Jim Jordan
Staff Contact Name and Information:
Kaitlin Helms Wolf (McIntyre) 202.225.2731, kaitlin.wolf@mail.house.gov
Susan Manchester (Jordan) 202.225.2676, susan.manchester@mail.house.gov

Congressional Caucus on Fitness

Date Approved: 5/7/2013
Chairs & Co-Chairs: Rep. Ron Kind; Rep. Aaron Schock
Staff Contact Name and Information:
Diana Maas (Kind) 202.225.5506, diana.maas@mail.house.gov
Margie Almanza (Schock) 202.225.6201, margie.almanza@mail.house.gov

Congressional Public Transport Caucus

Date Approved: 04/05/2013
Chairs & Co-Chairs: Rep. Daniel Lipinski; Rep. Michael Grimm
Staff Contact Name and Information:
Brian Oszakiewski (Lipinski) 202.225.5701, brian.oszakiewski@mail.house.gov
Aaron Ringel (Grimm) 202.225.3371, aaron.ringel@mail.house.gov

Congressional Task Force on Childhood Obesity

Date Approved: 2/27/2013
Chairs & Co-Chairs: Rep. Marcia L. Fudge; Rep. Dave Reichert; Rep. Ron Kind; Rep. Pat Tiberi
Staff Contact Name and Information:
Kellie Adesina (Fudge) 202.225.7032, kellie.adesina@mail.house.gov
Lindsay Manson (Reichert) 202.225.7761, lindsay.manson@mail.house.gov
Diana Maas (Kind) 202.225.5506, diana.maas@mail.house.gov
Whitney Daffner (Tiberi) 202.225.5355, whitney.daffner@mail.house.gov

Congressional Tennis Caucus

Date Approved: 3/28/2013
Chairs & Co-Chairs: Rep. Shelley Moore Capito
Staff Contact Name and Information:
Staunton Gorrell (Capito) 202.225.2711, staunton.gorrell@mail.house.gov

Congressional Urban Caucus

Date Approved: 04/05/2013
Chairs & Co-Chairs: Rep. Chaka Fattah; Rep. Michael Turner
Staff Contact Name and Information:
Jared Bass (Fattah) 202.225.4001, jared.bass@mail.house.gov
Andy Sigmon (Turner) 202.225.6465 andy.sigmon@mail.house.gov